Porsche closes the front row in wet qualifying

It was reigning champion Maximilian Götz who led the 20-minute session after the opening laps, as the Winward Mercedes lapped the 7.0km circuit in 2m30.800s on a set of wet tyres.

This put him just 0.007sec ahead of Porsche Olsen, with teammate Lucas Auer by exactly the same margin in third place in the second Winord AMG GT3.

However, while Gotz failed to improve his running time in the second part of qualifying even as the track started to dry up, several others were able to make marginal gains to drop the German driver off the top spot on the leaderboard.

Driving practice pilot Thomas Breenning was the first driver to push Goetz off the lead and move forward, clocking a time of 2m 30.634sec in the Bernhard 75 Porsche 911 GT3R Team.

But the honor of scoring the Stuttgart brand’s first pole in the DTM went instead to Olsen, who took his SSR Performance car to the top just seconds later with 2m30.488s.

With Dev Gore harboring his Rosberg Audi team in Bruxelles at the last minute and issuing a yellow flag, no one could improve massively enough to deny Olsen becoming the ninth different driver to score a starting point this season.

That means Preining settled into second place, 0.146secs behind his Porsche teammate, while Auer finished third on the grid after fixing Gotz’s previous benchmark by just 0.121secs.

Laurens Vanthoor bolstered his Porsche teammates’ results by jumping to fifth place late in qualifying in second of both sets of SSR 911s.

Maru Engel was sixth fastest in the lead in the GruppeM Mercedes, while David Schumacher got the best qualifying result of the season in seventh place and made sure all three cars from Team Winward were in the top ten.

Kelvin van der Linde was the best qualifier for Audi in eighth despite pushing FCY when his Abt R8 LMS GT3 team slashed after cutting through the wet hurdles at Pouhon.

Van der Linde’s car was pulled back onto the track with the help of a service cart with nine minutes left to run, allowing him to finish the session and set a time of 2m 31.233sec.

Red Bull’s Felipe Fraga qualified 0.760secs off the lead in ninth place in the Ferrari best managed AF Corse, while the top ten was rounded out by Nico Muller’s Rosberg Audi team.

Rene Rast, the Abt driver, qualified just behind Muller in 11th and has a solid chance of beating his championship rivals, who all qualified outside the center.

Grasser’s Lamborghini Bortolotti finished 20th, more than two seconds off the lead, while points leader Sheldon van der Linde was no better at 22nd in his Schubert BMW.

DTM Spa – Eligible Results:

both no driver car/engine time the difference
1 94 Dennis Olsen Porsche 2’30.488
2 24 Thomas Brenning Porsche 2’30.634 0.146
3 22 Lucas Auer mercedes 2’30.679 0.191
4 1 Maximilian Gotze mercedes 2’30.800 0.312
5 92 Laurens Fanthur Porsche 2’30.923 0.435
6 88 Maru English mercedes 2’31.054 0.566
7 27 David Schumacher mercedes 2’31.087 0.599
8 3 Kelvin van der Linde Audi 2’31.233 0.745
9 74 Felipe Fraga Ferrari 2’31.248 0.760
10 51 Nico Muller Audi 2’31.335 0.847
11 33 Rene Rast Audi 2’31.521 1.033
12 37 Nick Cassidy Ferrari 2’31.809 1.321
13 36 Arjun Main mercedes 2’32.037 1.549
14 7 Ricardo Feller Audi 2’32.095 1.607
15th 4 Luca Stolz mercedes 2’32.247 1.759
16 18 Maximilian Boehck mercedes 2’32.259 1.771
17 11 Marco Whitman BMW 2’32.262 1.774
18 10 Esteban Moth BMW 2’32.534 2.046
19 85 Clemens Schmid Lamborghini 2’32.638 2.150
20 63 Mirco Bortolotti Lamborghini 2’32,682 2.194
21 55 Michael Grenier mercedes 2’32.887 2,399
22 31 Sheldon van der Linde BMW 2’33.138 2.650
23 25 Philip M BMW 2’33.183 2,695
24 19 Rolf’s Inspiration Lamborghini 2’33.756 3.268
25 66 Marius Zug Audi 2’33.875 3.387
26 12 Dave Gor Audi 2’34.505 4.017
27 6 Alessio Deleda Lamborghini 2’36.511 6.023

Leave a Comment