Meet the 12 finalists for the 2023 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

Knoxville, Tenn. (Watt) – The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame has announced that 12 finalists under consideration will be honored as part of the 2023 class.

The twelve nominees were announced during the first half of the women’s basketball game between South Carolina and Maryland on Friday.

The eight-member class of 2023 will be selected from among these finalists. The enlistment will be announced on November 27th during the first half of the Phil Knight Invitational Championship match.

The 12 finalists for the Class of 2023 are:

Brian Agler, Fitness Trainer

  • The professional women’s basketball coach (308-220) … won four world titles as head coach for the WNBA Los Angeles Sparks (2016) and Seattle Storm (2010) as well as ABL’s Columbus Quest (1998, 1997)
  • College training at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, University of Missouri-Kansas City and Kansas State University…has an overall college training record of 248-135
  • Member of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame (2014), Wittenberg Hall of Fame (1995), University of Missouri-Kansas City Hall of Fame (2013) and Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College Hall of Fame (2014)

Kathy Boswell, veteran player

  • Member of Team USA Gold Medalists at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles
  • Two-time Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Kodak All-American and a two-time Wade Cup finalist
  • He finished first in his career at Illinois State University (1980-1983) with 2,005 points and 1,054 rebounds

Donna Lupiano contributor

  • CEO of Women’s Sports Foundation from 1992 to 2007…Member of Fox Sports’ “10 Most Powerful Women in Sports” list
  • University of Texas Women’s Athletics Director 1975-92… Women’s teams won 18 national championships in six different sports, including 1985-1986 the first NCAA undefeated (34-0) champion in women’s basketball… School hosted The first fully sold out NCAA Women’s Quartet Final, 1987
  • Member of the Texas and Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame

Lisa Mattingly official

  • Official for 33 years… She made 10 NCAA Women’s Finals (2001-2007, 2009, 2011, 2014) and seven semi-finals (1999, 2000, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018)
  • He ran the WNBA League Championship Series from 2000 to 2007 and the WNBA League Finals from 2002 to 2006
  • Recipient of the 2002 Naismith Award as Outstanding Official

Paula L. McGee, player

  • He joined USC in 1980, averaging 20 points and 9 rebounds per game as a freshman
  • 1982 WBCA All-American, 1983 Kodak All-American,
  • Member of the 1983 and 1984 NCAA Championship Teams
  • A retired shirt hangs at the Galen Center at the University of Southern California.

Crown McWilliams Franklin, player

  • 1993 NAIA National Player of the Year
  • Six times WNBA All-Stars
  • Two-time WNBA Champion
  • One of twelve WNBA players to score 5,000 career points and ranks third all-time in career rebounds.

Caroline Beck, Fitness Trainer

  • Head coach at Purdue University (1997-99), Orlando Miracle (1999-01), University of Florida (2002-2007)
  • The 1999 NCAA Purdue National Championship remains the only Big Ten team to win a title in the sport
  • He was named USBWA Coach of the Year 1998-99, WBCA Coach of the Year, AP College Basketball Coach of the Year, and Naismith College Coach of the Year.

Sue Phillips Fitness Trainer

  • Won two consecutive gold medals with Team USA (2013, 2014)…Added a gold medal as head coach for the 2021 U16 FIBA ​​Americas Championship
  • 27 Years as Head Coach of Archbishop Mitte High School (692-128)…Teams directed to 62 titles (22 leagues, 21 leagues, 12 norcals, 6 states, 1 national)
  • 2018 Naismith Coach of the Year and 2018 WBCA Coach of the Year

Crystal Robson player

  • Six times WNBA All-Star (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2011) and voted on the WNBA Top 15 All-Time Players of 2011
  • She played in Colorado State (1995-1999), where she finished her career as the program’s top scorer (2,740 points).
  • She was named 2015 ESPNW Woman of the Year

Saudi Roundtree, player

  • Kilgore Junior College (1992-1994)… Led KJC to the 1993 NJCAA National Championship… Named the 1993-1994 WBCA Junior College All-America Team and was the WBCA Junior College National Player of the Year 1993-94 After averaging 26.2 points per game
  • Twice All-SEC First Team Honored…Member of the 1995-96 WBCA Division I All-American Team…Led the University of Georgia to the 1995-96 SEC Championship and a back-to-back appearance in the NCAA Final Four.
  • He was named WBCA (NCAA Division I), Naismith, American Basketball Writers Association, UPI, Basketball Times, and ESPYs 1995-96 National Player of the Year…only one of two honored by the WBCA as Player of the Year National of the Year in both Junior College and NCAA Division One Level

Mary “Ronnie” Scoville, Fitness Trainer

  • Head Coach at Gulf Coast State College (1996-2012) and again from 2014 to present…has a record of 622-87 (.877)
  • Teams won 90 consecutive games between seasons 2000-04… Led teams to six NJCAA national championships (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 18 conference championships and 13 regional titles
  • Six-time NJCAA National Coach of the Year (2003, 2008, 2010, 2016, 2017, 2019), 2019 Spalding Coach of the Year and 2018 US Marine Corps/WBCA two-year Coach of the Year

Lindsay Wallen, player

  • In its four years, Minnesota has amassed a record 80-43 (0.650), including 72-23 (.758) in its last three seasons (2002, 2003, 2004) … Honored Player of the Year (2002)
  • Three-time WNBA World Championship Team Member (2011, 2013, 2015)…First WNBA Team in 2008, 2011, 2013…Four times WNBA All-Star (2006, 2011, 2013, 2014)
  • Team USA is a two-time gold medalist in 2012, Olympic Games 2016…Member of Team USA 2010 and 2014 FIBA ​​World Champions…Leads Team USA to gold medals in the FIBA ​​Women’s World Championships 2003 (Under 21) and 2002 FIBA ​​World Youth Championship (Under 20) Qualifiers

These highlights are just a few of the major accomplishments and are not the overall contributions these individuals have made to women’s basketball.

The winners of the 2023 Love of the Game and Trailblazers of the Game Award will also be announced on November 27. The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place on April 29, 2023 at the home of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville.

Leave a Comment